Faculty Members

Photo of Martha Steffens

Martha Steffens, B.A.

Martha Steffens, B.A., the chair in business and financial journalism at the Missouri School of Journalism, teaches business and financial journalism, economics for journalists, and entrepreneurial journalism. Before joining the Missouri School of Journalism faculty in 2002, Steffens had a 30-year career in the news...

Read More
Photo of Ronald B. Kelley

Ronald B. Kelley, Ph.D.

Ron Kelley is the executive director of the Student Development, Diversity and Inclusion Program at the Missouri School of Journalism. Kelley’s background is in broadcast journalism and higher education advancement. He previously served in the roles of assistant news director at KOMU-TV and assistant vice...

Read More
Photo of Jo Britt-Rankin

Jo Britt-Rankin, M.S., Ph.D.

Jo Britt-Rankin is a University of Missouri Extension professor focused on nutrition, health, and family. As an affiliate faculty member for the Novak Leadership Institute, she teaches the Chancellor’s Leadership Class. The Chancellor’s Leadership Class helps first-year students develop important communication and leadership skills that will...

Read More
Photo of Randall Smith

Randall Smith, B.J.

Randall Smith, BJ ’74, the Donald W. Reynolds Endowed Chair in Business Journalism, is a former newspaper editor and a former president of the Society for Advancing Business Editing and Writing (SABEW). Smith was a reporter and editor at two newspapers before joining The Kansas City...

Read More